Author life, Blog

Writing status December 2021

How was your year? It’s a question you’re bound to ask yourself this month. How was your year? Mine was fine, thanks. Oh, you’d like to know more? Well, guess what this post is about!

Twenty Twenty-One started off with some more lovely lockdown here in the UK. Since my monsters are still of primary school age (Still? Yes, I know! Every year I think they may finally grow up, but no…), that meant the first two months I got to spend with them, helping with school work and thinking up yet new ways to entertain them without resorting to more screen time.

Come March, I was so ready to start writing again! So I did. I finished the first draft of the first book in my cozy mystery series: Death by Naked Ladies. Then I took a good, long look at it again, and finished the second draft before summer. A few people were unlucky enough to get to read this still very rough draft. They were, however, kind enough to say they liked it, and also to give me some valuable tips on how to make it better. Thank you, unlucky people!

Of course, I had no plans to start changing Death by Naked Ladies. At least not right then. Because Beaujolais Blood wanted to be written! And it has. At least, I’m working hard to finish the first draft by Christmas. What do you think, will I be super chuffed with myself if I manage to finish two first drafts in a year?

As you can imagine, I’m quite happy with how this year turned out. Providing we don’t have any more lockdowns, I’m hoping to have both books edited by summer 2022. And then I’ll write a free (yes, free!) short story for anyone who’ll sign up to my newsletter. By the end of next year, I might actually be ready to publish… 3 books. Shock, gasp!

Head over here for a sneak peek at Death by Naked Ladies, and if you want to be among the first to read my upcoming free short story, sign up to my newsletter!

1 thought on “Writing status December 2021”

Leave a comment